Back to Table of Contents                                                         

5.1.1.p. Procedure: Southeastern Technical College Faculty Council

A college-wide Faculty Council shall be established to facilitate faculty participation and input into collegiate and academic policies and procedures. The Council will serve as a channel of communication between the faculty and the academic administration of Southeastern Technical College.

The Faculty Council shall consist of a representative from each of the following areas on the Vidalia campus: General Education, Health Sciences, Business Technologies, Human Services and Industrial Technologies. The Council will also be comprised of a faculty member from each of the following academic areas on the Swainsboro campus: General Education, Business Technologies & Human Services, Health Sciences, and a representative from either the Environmental or Industrial area.

A councilor's term shall be for two years and a councilor may serve up to three terms consecutively. Any vacancy will be filled by holding an election from the faculty area in which the vacancy originated. The Council will nominate and elect a Vice-Chair, and Secretary every two years. The Vice-Chair will serve a two-year term and then become the Chair the next term. Meetings will be held each term or more often as determined by the Council. These meetings will follow parliamentary protocol, as outlined in Robert's Rules of Order.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs, or their designee, will serve as a point of reference for the meetings and will not be allowed to vote on any Council business. The Vice President for Academic Affairs will be responsible for bringing any Faculty Council recommendations before the Executive Council.

Adequate and open communication, participation, and suggestions for practical solutions are a vital part of a productive shared governance where concerns are voiced and policies are reflective of the general academic well-being of the college.

Adopted: June 25, 2009
Reviewed: September 15, 2016; September 18, 2017; September 20, 2021;
Revised: September 14, 2020;